Sense and Second-Degree Murder by Tirzah Price

Retellings have such a special place in my bookish heart, and after reading and loving the first book in the Jane Austen Murder Mystery series, I was so excited to get offered the change to read an early copy of the second book! So thankful for the incredible tours I get to be a part of, like this one with TBR and Beyond Tours.

About the Book:

Book Title: Sense and Second-Degree Murder (Jane Austen Murder Mystery #2)

Author: Tirzah Price

Publisher: HarperCollins

Release Date: April 5th, 2022

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound


Synopsis:

Three of Jane Austen’s classic novels receive a murder mystery makeover in this romantic and thrilling three-book series that’s perfect for fans of The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy and Stalking Jack the Ripper. In Sense and Second-Degree Murder, aspiring scientist Elinor Dashwood and her sister Marianne, a budding detective, work together to solve the mystery of their father’s murder.

When eighteen-year-old aspiring scientist Elinor Dashwood discovers her beloved father slumped over the desk of his office study, she knows his death means dire straits for the Dashwood women. To make matters worse, an outdated will entails his estate—including Norland & Company, the private investigation firm where her younger sister Marianne worked as her father’s partner and protégé—to their half-brother and his haughty wife, who waste no time in forcing the Dashwoods out of their home and into a cramped apartment on London’s Barton Street.

But before they go, the Dashwood sisters make a startling discovery that points to foul play, and the killer might be family.

Obviously, the girls must investigate. It could be dangerous; it could ruin their reputations; and most importantly, it won’t bring back their father. But if the Dashwood sisters can combine their talents and bring their father’s murderer to justice, it may bring them all some comfort—and it might even lead to love.


I have just loved reading Price’s take on the Jane Austen classic with a murder mystery twist, her characters are so well-written and interesting. How she kept the original plot lines but weaving in characteristics and details that made it completely different as well.

These three sisters were a joy to read, I think I enjoyed Elinor most. Each girl had such a unique personality that made reading their adventures an absolute delight and can I just say the STEM titles out in the publishing right now are just killing it! Give me all the empowered smart ladies!


About the Author:

Tirzah Price (she/her) grew up on a farm in Michigan, where she read every book she could get her hands on and never outgrew her love for YA fiction. She holds an MFA in Writing for Children & Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts, and is a former bookseller and librarian. Now, she’s a contributing editor at Book Riot, where she can be found recommending books on the site, newsletters, podcasts, and social media accounts. When she’s not writing, reading, or thinking about YA books, she splits her time between experimenting in the kitchen and knitting enough socks to last the fierce Michigan winters.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads


To check out the rest of the tour, please head over to www.tbrbeyondtours.com

Published by Shay Tibbs

An avid reader since childhood, there’s nothing like curling up with a good book! I love to read all types of books and am enjoying being a part of the bookstagram community, at @booksaremagictoo filling up my days with words from all of my favorite authors, publishers and virtual book clubs! Here I'll be sharing reviews of my recent reads, and other bookish things I love!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: